| Colorado Department of Law
Collection Agency Board
Ralph L. Carr Colorado Judicial Center
Consumer Protection Section – Collection Agency Regulation
1300 Broadway, 6th Floor
Denver, CO 80203
Telephone and Fax:
Consumer Complaints & Information: (720) 508-6022
Collection Agency Licensing: (720) 508-6020
Fax: (720) 508-6033
|The Collection Agency Board enforces the Colorado Fair Debt Collection Practices Act and issues the following licenses: a. One-time investigation fee: $300 b. $750 initial license fee c. Annual License Renewal: $350 d. Collection Manager one-time exam and fee: $100.
|Any individual, firm or corporation is a collection agent if using a name other than its own, with the intention of indicating to the debtor that a third person has been employed in the collection business.
|Attorneys are exempt from collection agency’s license. HOWEVER, if attorney hires someone to do debt collection for clients, that person must be licensed.
|There are requirements for consumer rights including disclosure requirements, boldface type, etc.
|Out of state collection agencies who regularly collect debts in Colorado must also contact Colorado U.C.C.C.